The Kingdom
Bush - The Kingdom.png
Studio album by
Released17 July 2020
Bush chronology
Black and White Rainbows
The Kingdom
Singles from The Kingdom
  1. "Bullet Holes"
    Released: 17 May 2019
  2. "Flowers on a Grave"
    Released: 3 March 2020
  3. "The Kingdom"
    Released: 17 July 2020
  4. "Blood River" / "Quicksand"
    Released: 2 October 2020

The Kingdom is the eighth studio album by English rock band Bush. It was originally scheduled to be released in May 2020[3] but it was later pushed back to a release date of 17 July 2020.[4] The band released two singles prior to the album, the first being "Bullet Holes" which was released in May 2019 and featured in the film John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum, and the second single off the album was "Flowers on a Grave" and was released one year later in March 2020.

Background and title of album

In May 2019, Bush set The Mind Plays Tricks on You as the title of their new studio album, tentatively due in fall 2019.[5]

Recorded in Los Angeles,[6] The Kingdom was the first Bush album on which Robin Goodridge did not perform,[7][better source needed] who had played as the drummer for the band since 1993.[8]


Gavin Rossdale remarked in May 2018 that the next Bush album would contain "heavier" songs written from an "angrier perspective".[9]

The Upcoming opined that Bush brought "electronic-laced alternative rock" to the new record,[1] comparable to their previous effort Black and White Rainbows.[1] To contrast, Kerrang! detailed that The Kingdom presented "a far heavier, more riff-based and muscular approach" that its 2017 predecessor.[10] Rolling Stone Magazine opined The Kingdom to be a grunge effort, akin to the band's earliest work.[2]

The Kingdom detailed many personal narratives in its lyrics.[11] "Send in the Clowns" chronicled feelings of being misunderstood,[11] "Crossroads" recounted taking decisions in life,[11] while "Falling Away" narrated a feeling of personal freedom.[11] Rossdale remarked in an interview with LouderSound that "Our Time Will Come" relayed "looking through anything bleak in your life and realising that amazing things are happening and amazing things will come".[11]


Professional ratings
Aggregate scores
Review scores
AllMusic3.5/5 stars[6]
American Songwriter4/5 stars[13]
Entertainment Focus4/5 stars[14]
Kerrang!3/5 stars[10]
Rolling Stone1.5/5 stars[2]
The Upcoming2/5 stars[1]

The Kingdom received an aggregate score of 57/100 from Metacritic suggesting "mixed or average reviews.[12]

Neil Z. Yeung of AllMusic was heavily lauding of The Kingdom,[6] declaring it "an absolute bounty of riffs" and to "recall the best" of past releases such as Golden State and The Science of Things.[6]

Macie Bennett of American Songwriter gave a positive 4-out-of-5 star review, and opined that Bush "may have released its best yet" with The Kingdom.[13]

British publication Entertainment Focus gave a highly praising review, and remarked that the record saw Bush "creating some of the most interesting, and diverse, music in the rock genre right now", and that it was an "addictive record" that should "see the band's popularity soar again".[14]

A review by Paul Travers for Kerrang! was strongly positive, hailing The Kingdom "a return to Bush’s glory days".[10]

Rolling Stone's Kory Grow gave mostly negative feedback, detailing that the songs "trudge through the same monochromatic grunge" of earlier releases.[2] Grow further dismissed the record's music as derivative, commenting that the single "Bullet Holes" "musically, rips off U2’s “Bullet the Blue Sky”".[2]

Emma-Jane Betts of London-based entertainment publication The Upcoming was largely dismissive of the release, opining that although the band's "determination is admirable", The Kingdom left an "unremarkable" end result.[1] To contrast, Betts named "Quicksand" a "standout track".[1]

Track listing

All songs were written by Gavin Rossdale.

The Kingdom track listing
1."Flowers on a Grave"3:45
2."The Kingdom"3:47
3."Bullet Holes"3:47
4."Ghosts in the Machine"4:15
5."Blood River"4:20
7."Send in the Clowns"4:13
9."Our Time Will Come"3:50
11."Words Are Not Impediments"3:08
12."Falling Away"3:52
13."Live Another Day (Digital Bonus [15]"3:35
14."Beware False Prophets (Digital Bonus [16]"4:40
Total length:47:07


  • Gavin Rossdale – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Chris Traynor – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Corey Britz – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Gil Sharone - drums (all tracks except “The Kingdom” & “Flowers on a Grave”)
  • Nik Hughes – drums


Chart performance for The Kingdom
Chart (2020)Peak
Austrian Albums (Ö3 Austria)[17]49
German Albums (Offizielle Top 100)[18]35
Scottish Albums (OCC)[19]46
Swiss Albums (Schweizer Hitparade)[20]27
UK Independent Albums (OCC)[21]14
UK Rock & Metal Albums (OCC)[22]4

See also


  1. ^ a b c d e f Betts, Emma-Jane (17 July 2020). "Bush - The Kingdom - Album Review". The Upcoming. Retrieved 17 July 2020.
  2. ^ a b c d e Grow, Kory (17 July 2020). "Bush's Songs Remain the Same on 'The Kingdom'". Rolling Stone. Retrieved 17 July 2020.
  3. ^ Erickson, Anne (3 March 2020). "Bush Announce New Album, Tour Dates with Breaking Benjamin". Consequence of Sound. Retrieved 15 May 2020.
  4. ^ "BUSH's 'The Kingdom' Album Gets Official Release Date". Blabbermouth. 12 April 2020. Retrieved 15 May 2020.
  5. ^ "BUSH To Release 'The Mind Plays Tricks On You' Album In The Fall". Blabbermouth. 10 May 2019. Retrieved 18 May 2019.
  6. ^ a b c d Yeung, Neil Z. "The Kingdom - Bush". AllMusic. Retrieved 23 July 2020.
  7. ^ "Dig Me Out - Substack". Bush - The Kingdom. Retrieved 17 September 2020.
  8. ^ "Nigel Pulsford interview (2009)". BBC Wales - Music. 12 November 2009.
  9. ^ "Bush's Gavin Rossdale Teases New Album". Loudwire.
  10. ^ a b c Travers, Paul (17 July 2020). "Album Review: Bush - The Kingdom". Kerrang!. Retrieved 17 July 2020.
  11. ^ a b c d e Edwards, Briony (17 July 2020). "Gavin Rossdale's track-by-track guide to Bush's new album The Kingdom". LouderSound. Retrieved 17 September 2020.
  12. ^ a b "The Kingdom by Bush". Metacritic. Retrieved 23 July 2020.
  13. ^ a b Bennett, Macie (16 July 2020). "Bush May Have Released Its Best Album With 'The Kingdom'". American Songwriter. Retrieved 25 July 2020.
  14. ^ a b Ellwood-Hughes, Pip (17 July 2020). "Bush – The Kingdom album review". Entertainment Focus. Retrieved 17 July 2020.
  15. ^
  16. ^
  17. ^ " – Bush – The Kingdom" (in German). Hung Medien. Retrieved 30 July 2020.
  18. ^ " – Bush – The Kingdom" (in German). GfK Entertainment Charts. Retrieved 24 July 2020.
  19. ^ "Official Scottish Albums Chart Top 100". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 24 July 2020.
  20. ^ " – Bush – The Kingdom". Hung Medien. Retrieved 30 July 2020.
  21. ^ "Official Independent Albums Chart Top 50". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 24 July 2020.
  22. ^ "Official Rock & Metal Albums Chart Top 40". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 24 July 2020.