Spinner (album).jpg
Soundtrack album by
Recorded1994 & 1995;
Transfermation, London
GenreAmbient, instrumental rock
LabelAll Saints Records
ProducerJah Wobble, Brian Eno
Brian Eno and Jah Wobble chronology
Original Soundtracks 1
Professional ratings
Review scores
AllMusic2.5/5 stars[1]
Entertainment WeeklyA−[2]
Down Beat4/5 stars[3]
Rolling Stone1/5 stars[4]
Trouser Pressfavourable[5]

Spinner is an instrumental album by British musicians Brian Eno and Jah Wobble (a.k.a. John Wardle), released in 1995.

Track listing

  1. "Where We Lived" – 2:59
  2. "Like Organza" – 2:44
  3. "Steam" – 3:16
  4. "Garden Recalled" – 3:21
  5. "Marine Radio" – 5:04
  6. "Unusual Balance" – 5:23
  7. "Space Diary 1" – 1:51
  8. "Spinner" – 2:54
  9. "Transmitter and Trumpet" – 8:41
  10. "Left Where It Fell" – 7:02
  11. (Hidden track (later released upon The Drop as "Iced World") – 8:42


The music on Spinner has its origins in the Eno-penned soundtrack to the Derek Jarman biographical 60-minute movie Glitterbug, which was released in 1994, shortly after Jarman's death.

The movie was an abstract montage composed of Super-8 excerpts from his personal video-diaries, going behind-the-scenes of many of his movies from the late sixties right up to the end of the eighties.[6]

Eno composed most of the soundtrack in his Kilburn studio, working directly onto digital stereo. The music stayed in the film; it was never released as a separate entity. Eno explains "I had intended to collect the music as a soundtrack record, but in the end a lot of it didn't make much sense without the film".

In 1995, Eno handed the master-tapes to Wobble. "He received from me a number of stereo tapes and did what he does – spanning the gamut from leaving them completely alone (such as "Garden Recalled"); playing along (such as "Like Organza"); or using them as atmospheres for entirely new compositions (such as "Steam")".

Eno did not participate in any co-production on Spinner at all; it was all done by Wobble. Eno said "I didn't even hear it all till it was finished. I had no input at all on that stage of it. Everything that he put on, he produced. Anything you hear looming around in the back is probably what I produced".

Wobble, interviewed on BBC Radio 3 programme Mixing It in January 1998 explained that Eno had specifically asked for his input in creating a standalone CD.[7]

Some of Eno's thoughts on the album in its final stages can be found in the last section ("Wobbly letter") of the appendix of Eno's published diary, A Year with Swollen Appendices. This section is a copy of a letter from Eno to Dominic Norman-Taylor of All Saints Records, describing Eno's opinions of Jah Wobble's mixes and treatments of the tracks. Several of the tracks are given their working titles ("Unusual Balance", for example, is referred to as "Scrapy"). The letter gives hints as to the methods used by Eno and Wobble in creating the album, with Eno providing many of the original tracks, which Wobble then treated and sequenced.[8]

The finished product is a fusion of ambient, instrumental rock, and dub. Eno referred to the last track as an example of what he called "Unwelcome Jazz. Because for the last 3 or 4 years, really, I've been writing these pieces of music, which sound like some peculiar take on jazz. They don't really sound like jazz, they obviously have some kind of influence from jazz. But most of the people I played them to don't really like them – so I call it 'Unwelcome Jazz' [laughs]".


  • Compositions 1, 4, 7, 8 and 11 by Brian Eno; 2, 3, 5, 6, 9 and 10 by Brian Eno and Jah Wobble
  • Synthesizer, treatments: Brian Eno
  • Bass, drums, keyboards, atmospheres: Jah Wobble
  • Keyboards, atmospheres, percussion: Mark Ferda[9]
  • Guitar: Justin Adams
  • Drums: Richard Bailey and Jaki Liebezeit
  • Vocals: Sussan Deihim
  • Cover art: Brian Eno and David Coppenhall
  • Recording and mastering: Transfermation, London[10]


CountryLabelCat. no.MediaRelease date
UKAll SaintsASCD23CD/LP1995,1999,2003
USGyroscope8190 6614-2CD1995
?All Saints571495CD2006


  • Sonora Portraits 1, a compilation CD accompanying a book of essays and interviews edited by Claudio Chianura & Giampiero Bigazzi, features the track "Left Where It Fell", as well as a few selections from Glitterbug (Materiali Sonori, MASO CD 90110, 1999).[11]
  • The tracks "Spinner" and "Left Where It Fell" appear on Jah Wobble's 2004 anthology I Could Have Been a Contender.[12]


  1. ^ Connolly, Dave. Spinner at AllMusic
  2. ^ http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,299590,00.html
  3. ^ Down Beat (10/96, p.62) - 4 Stars - Very Good - "...Wobble indulges his taste for dub bass lines and Middle Eastern melodies while seamlessly incorporating Eno's work. Remarkably, the results never sound forced or inappropriate."
  4. ^ https://www.rollingstone.com/music/albumreviews/spinner-19951214
  5. ^ Grant, Steven; Green, Jim; Robbins, Ira. "TrouserPress.com :: Brian Eno". TrouserPress.com. Retrieved 4 July 2016.
  6. ^ Eno videos
  7. ^ EnoFAQ3: Eno people
  8. ^ Eno, B. (1996) A Year with Swollen Appendices. London: Faber and Faber. pp 412–414.ISBN 0-571-17995-9.
  9. ^ Mark Ferda Discography at Discogs
  10. ^ Disocgs - Transfermation profile and discography
  11. ^ Sonora Portraits Brian Eno by Brian Eno @ ARTISTdirect.com – Shop, Listen, Download
  12. ^ Jah Wobble – I Could Have Been A Contender (Anthology) (CD) at Discogs

External links