Hällas (/ˈhɛlɑːs/[1]) are a Swedish progressive rock band formed in 2011 in Jönköping, Småland, by Tommy Alexandersson and Kasper Eriksson. Currently based in Linköping, Östergötland,[2] they play a blend of progressive rock, hard rock and heavy metal inspired by 1970s bands, resulting in a genre that they call "adventure rock".

The band is named after the main character of the stories they tell in their lyrics; Hällas is a knight living in parallel, medieval universe in which "religion similarly, albeit not necessarily the ones we recognize from here, are very prevalent and where treacherous tyrants reign lands on the verge of the apocalypse and where seers have gained so much strength that they can dictate the future and the past".[3]


The band was founded in 2011 in Jönköping, Småland, by bassist/vocalist Tommy Alexandersson, drummer Kasper Eriksson and a guitarist as a blues rock trio, but they soon started to incorporate elements of 1980s heavy metal and to adopt a more progressive approach to songwriting.[4] After moving to Linköping in Östergötland and splitting with their guitarist, they met guitarists Marcus Petersson and Alexander Moraitis.[2]

They recorded their first EP at Treasuresound Studio (in Jönköping), which is managed by their current keyboardist Nicklas. Back then, he was not a member yet, but was invited to join the group because they wanted to have organs and synthesizers in their music.[4]

After the EP, they toured extensively and started preparing their debut full-length album Excerpts from a Future Past, a conceptual one.[4]

In early 2020, they signed with Napalm Records and released their second album, Conundrum, on 31 January.[5] It was recorded at the Riksmixningsverket in Stockholm[3][6] and peaked at #42 and #84 at the Swedish and German charts, respectively.[7] The album ends a plot that started on their EP and continued on their debut full-length effort.[2][1][8]

In 2020, they were nominated for a P3 Guld Award in the rock/metal category.[9]

In December 2020, they released a video for "Carry On", a track off their second album.[9]

In January 2022, they announced that their third full-length album, titled Isle of Wisdom, would be released on 8 April via Napalm.[10]

Musical style

Hällas's music has been described as a mixture of progressive rock,[11] hard rock[11] and heavy metal inspired by 1970s bands,[12] resulting in a genre that they call "adventure rock".[4][5][8][3][2][6] They cite 1970s progressive rock bands as influences, namely Genesis, Uriah Heep, Cherry Five, Wishbone Ash, Camel, Nektar, Rush, Banco del Mutuo Soccorso and Kebnekajse.[4][11][1]

Members use both vintage and modern gear in their performances.[11][6][1]


Current members (as of August 2023[9])

  • Tommy Alexandersson – lead vocals, bass
  • Rickard Swahn – guitar
  • Marcus Petersson – guitar
  • Nicklas Malmqvist – organ, synthesizer
  • Kasper Eriksson – drums, percussion


Studio albums

List of studio albums, with selected chart positions and sales figures
TitleAlbum detailsPeak chart positions
Excerpts from a Future Past
  • Released: 13 October 2017[15]
  • Label: Sign Records[11]
  • Released: 14 February 2020[8]
  • Label: RMV Grammofon (Scandinavia), Napalm (rest of the World)[6]
Isle of Wisdom
  • Released: 8 April 2022
  • Label: Napalm
"—" denotes a recording that did not chart or was not released in that territory.


  1. ^ a b c d Sharma, Amit (24 March 2020). "Hällas: "We started with the plot and then made riffs that would fit the narrative. It was more of a soundtrack approach"". Guitar World. Future plc. Retrieved 4 July 2021.
  2. ^ a b c d "HÄLLAS: Uplifting Music That Brings You Down". Prog Sphere. 28 March 2020. Retrieved 17 May 2021.
  3. ^ a b c Goldsmith, Zachary (26 March 2020). "An Interview With Hällas: Auras, Candy Bars And Traditional Heavy Metal". Last Rites. Retrieved 15 May 2021.
  4. ^ a b c d e "Entrevista: Hällas". Via Nocturna (in Portuguese). 29 September 2017. Retrieved 12 May 2021.
  5. ^ a b tarjavirmakari (28 January 2020). "HÄLLAS Sign With Napalm Records, European Tour Starts In March". Metal Shock Finland. Retrieved 12 May 2021.
  6. ^ a b c d Dick, Chris (24 February 2020). "Q&A: Kasper Eriksson (Hällas) Finds Himself In A Conundrum". Decibel. Red Flag Media Inc. Retrieved 4 July 2021.
  7. ^ "Charts for HÄLLAS - CONUNDRUM (ALBUM)". Sverigetopplistan. Retrieved 15 May 2021.
  8. ^ a b c Nubel, Ted (13 February 2020). "The Hällas "Conundrum": How Prog-Rock Can Rock So Hard (Stream + Interview)". Invisible Oranges. BrooklynVegan. Retrieved 4 July 2021.
  9. ^ a b c "HÄLLAS Debut "Carry On" Music Video". Brave Words & Bloody Knuckles. 16 December 2020. Retrieved 15 May 2021.
  10. ^ "HÄLLAS - Retro Prog-Rockers To Release Isle Of Wisdom Album In April; "Earl's Theme" Visualizer And Bonus Single "Stygian Depths" Streaming". Brave Words & Bloody Knuckles. 27 January 2022. Retrieved 28 January 2022.
  11. ^ a b c d e Dick, Chris (5 February 2018). "Q&A: Hällas' Tommy Alexandersson, Kasper Eriksson, Nicklas Malmqvist, and Marcus Pettersson Talk The Future Past". Decibel. Red Flag Media Inc. Retrieved 4 July 2021.
  12. ^ Cuervo, El (6 October 2017). "Hällas – Excerpts from a Future Past Review". Angry Metal Guy. Retrieved 12 May 2021.
  13. ^ "Swedish charts portal - Hällas" (in Swedish). Hung Medien. Retrieved 15 May 2015.
  14. ^ "Discographie von Hällas". GfK Entertainment. Retrieved 15 May 2020.
  15. ^ "Excerpts From a Future Past, by Hällas". Hällas. Retrieved 9 September 2022.
  16. ^ "Veckolista Album, vecka 15". Sverigetopplistan. Retrieved 15 April 2022.

External links