OriginDublin, Ireland
Years active2016–present
  • Elijah Hewson
  • Robert Keating
  • Josh Jenkinson
  • Ryan McMahon

Inhaler are an Irish rock band originating from Dublin. The band consists of vocalist/guitarist Elijah Hewson, bassist Robert Keating, guitarist Josh Jenkinson and drummer Ryan McMahon.[1] The band were tipped for success in 2020 when they ranked at number 5 in BBC's Sound of... music poll.[2] Inhaler have released nine singles, "I Want You", "It Won't Always Be Like This", "My Honest Face", "Ice Cream Sundae",[3] "We Have to Move On", "Falling In", "When It Breaks", "Cheer Up Baby", and, most recently, "Who's Your Money On (Plastic House)". Their debut album, It Won't Always Be Like This, was released on 9 July 2021. It entered the Irish Albums Chart at number one, it also entered the top 10 and top 20 album charts in other European countries such as the Netherlands and Germany [4][5][6] It entered the UK Album Chart at number one.[7]


2015–2017: Early years

Originally formed in 2012 at St Andrews College in Blackrock, Dublin, the band only decided on the name Inhaler in 2015.[8][1] Jenkinson joined the band right after the band name was decided.

2018–present: It Won't Always Be Like This

The group self-released their debut single, "I Want You", in 2017. The single was featured on Garageland Volume 1, released on 14 April 2017.[9] This was later followed by three more singles in 2019, namely "It Won't Always Be Like This", "My Honest Face" and "Ice Cream Sundae". They placed fifth on BBC's annual music poll, Sound of 2020.[10] On 21 January 2020, the group released their fourth single, titled "We Have to Move On".[11]

On their 2019–2020 tours, the band released a self-titled debut EP featuring the singles "It Won't Always Be Like This", "Oklahoma" (Late Night Version), "My Honest Face" and "There's No Other Place".

For Record Store Day 2020, the band released their singles as limited-edition vinyl records.[12]

The band were one of the winners of the Music Moves Europe Talent Award 2021[13] and were also shortlisted for the MTV PUSH UK & Ireland 2021.[14]

On 17 March 2021, the band released a single titled "Cheer Up Baby" and announced that their debut album, It Won't Always Be Like This, would be released on 16 July 2021.[15] On 13 May 2021, the band announced on their social media that the album release would be pushed forward by a week, to be released on 9 July 2021.[16]

Band members

Elijah Hewson of Inhaler
Josh Jenkinson of Inhaler
Lead singer Elijah Hewson (left) and guitarist Josh Jenkinson (right)
  • Elijah Hewson – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, lead guitar
  • Robert Keating – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Josh Jenkinson – lead guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Ryan McMahon – drums

Louis Lambert (keyboards and synthesizer) joins the band for live performances.



Studio albums

TitleDetailsPeak chart positions
It Won't Always Be Like This
  • Released: 9 July 2021
  • Label: Polydor
  • Format: Vinyl, CD, digital download, streaming, cassette


YearTitlePeak chart positionsAlbum/EP



2018"I Want You"Non-album single
2019"My Honest Face"24It Won't Always Be Like This
"It Won't Always Be Like This"
"Ice Cream Sundae"15non-album singles
2020"We Have to Move On"37
"Falling In"
"When It Breaks"33It Won't Always Be Like This
2021"Cheer Up Baby"133940
"Who's Your Money On (Plastic House)"

Awards and nominations

2020NMEThe NME 100Included[25]
BBCSound of 20205th[2]


  1. ^ a b "Everything you need to know about Inhaler, featuring Bono's son Elijah Hewson". Radio X. 6 January 2020. Retrieved 10 January 2020.
  2. ^ a b Youngs, Ian (5 January 2020). "BBC Sound of 2020: Bono's son and his band Inhaler tipped for success". BBC News. Retrieved 10 January 2020.
  3. ^ Hunt, El (4 November 2019). "Inhaler are the Dubliners who want rock to rage again – and shake off those U2 comparisons". NME. Retrieved 10 January 2020.
  4. ^ "Inhaler debut at Number 1 with It Won't Always be Like This".
  5. ^ "Dutch Charts -".
  6. ^ "Offizielle Deutsche Charts - Offizielle Deutsche Charts".
  7. ^ "Inhaler score Number 1 debut album: "It means the absolute world"".
  8. ^ "Introducing Inhaler, a breathless new band with some power-pop prowess". Far Out Magazine. 21 July 2019. Retrieved 12 January 2020.
  9. ^ "Garageland. Volume 1 – Top 6". Retrieved 22 January 2020.
  10. ^ "Sound of 2020 Shortlist". BBC. Retrieved 16 January 2021.
  11. ^ Ehrlich, Brenna (21 January 2020). "Inhaler: How an Asthmatic Irish Band Went From Talent Shows to Interscope". Rolling Stone. Retrieved 23 January 2020.
  12. ^ White, Jack (5 March 2020). "Christy Moore, Dermot Kennedy and Inhaler among Irish acts releasing limited edition vinyl for Record Store Day 2020". Official Charts. Retrieved 24 June 2021.
  13. ^ "Inhaler Win At Music Moves European Talent Awards 2021". HotPress. 15 January 2021. Retrieved 16 January 2021.
  14. ^ "MTV PUSH UK & IRE announce the 2021 shortlist". Music News. 19 November 2020. Retrieved 20 November 2020.
  15. ^ "Inhaler talk debut album and new single 'Cheer Up Baby': "It's a love letter to all our fans who are feeling isolated"". NME. 17 March 2021. Retrieved 17 March 2021.
  16. ^ Kemp, Ella (8 July 2021). "Inhaler – 'It Won't Always Be Like This' review: defiance, optimism and plenty of guitars". NME. Retrieved 10 July 2021.
  17. ^ "Discography Inhaler". Retrieved 16 July 2021.
  18. ^ "Discographie von Inhaler". GfK Entertainment. Retrieved 16 July 2021.
  19. ^ "Discografie Inhaler". (in Dutch). Retrieved 17 July 2021.
  20. ^ "Inhaler > Full Official Chart History". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 16 July 2021.
  21. ^ "Top 100 Artist Album, Week Ending 16 July 2021". Official Charts Company. Retrieved 16 July 2021.
  22. ^ "Inhaler". (in Dutch).
  23. ^ Peaks on the Alternative Airplay chart:
  24. ^ Peaks on the Adult Alternative Airplay chart:
  25. ^ Smith, Thomas (3 January 2020). "The NME 100: Essential new artists for 2020". NME. Retrieved 8 January 2020.