Garcia Live Volume 13
Jerry Garcia
Live album by
ReleasedApril 24, 2020
RecordedSeptember 16, 1989
VenuePoplar Creek Music Theatre
GenreRock, rhythm and blues
LabelRound / ATO
ProducerMarc Allan, Kevin Monty
Jerry Garcia Band chronology
Garcia Live Volume 11
Garcia Live Volume 13
Jerry Garcia chronology
Bear's Sonic Journals: Dawn of the New Riders of the Purple Sage
Garcia Live Volume 13
Garcia Live Volume 14

Garcia Live Volume 13 is a two-CD live album by the Jerry Garcia Band. It was recorded on September 16, 1989 at Poplar Creek Music Theatre in Hoffman Estates, Illinois. It was released on April 24, 2020.[1][2][3][4]

At this concert Clarence Clemons of Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band played saxophone for the entire show.[1][2][3][4]

September 1989 tour

In September 1989 the Jerry Garcia Band played a 12-concert tour of the Northeast and Midwest. Garcia Live Volume 13 is a recording of the last show of this tour. At five of the concerts, including this one, Clarence Clemons sat in on tenor saxophone. The opening act at all the shows was Bob Weir and Rob Wasserman.[5]

Critical reception

In Glide Magazine, Doug Collette wrote, "Everyone involved is deeply engaged, energetic and enthusiastic, so the playing transcends the ostensible familiarity of this setlist. And, as essayist Blair Jackson also points out in [the album liner notes], Clemons' pedigreed playing moves Garcia to stretch himself, not just through his impassioned guitar or his singing... but quite probably in song choice as well."[6]

Track listing

Disc 1

First set:
  1. "Cats Under the Stars" (Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter) – 9:32
  2. "They Love Each Other" (Garcia, Hunter) – 8:26
  3. "Let It Rock" (Chuck Berry) – 9:00
  4. "I Shall Be Released" (Bob Dylan) – 9:54
  5. "Someday Baby" (Lightnin' Hopkins) – 8:17
  6. "Dear Prudence" (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) – 11:06
  7. "Let's Spend the Night Together" (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) – 10:40

Disc 2

Second set:
  1. "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)" (Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, Eddie Holland) – 7:56
  2. "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" (Dylan) – 11:45
  3. "Think" (Jimmy McCracklin, Deadric Malone) – 9:45
  4. "Waiting for a Miracle" (Bruce Cockburn) – 7:03
  5. "Evangeline" (David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez) – 5:51
  6. "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down" (Robbie Robertson) – 10:34
  7. "Tangled Up in Blue" (Dylan) – 12:22


Jerry Garcia Band

Additional musicians


  • Produced by Marc Allan, Kevin Monty
  • Recording: John Cutler
  • Mastering: Fred Kevorkian
  • Design, illustration: Ryan Corey
  • Liner notes essay: Blair Jackson
  • Photos: Bob Minkin


  1. ^ a b Browne, David (March 10, 2020). "Hear Jerry Garcia and Clarence Clemons Jam Onstage in 1989". Rolling Stone. Retrieved April 5, 2020.
  2. ^ a b Broerman, Michael (March 10, 2020). "Listen to Clarence Clemons, Jerry Garcia Jam in 1989 in the Newest Installment of GarciaLive". Live for Live Music. Retrieved April 5, 2020.
  3. ^ a b Bernstein, Scott (March 10, 2020). "Jerry Garcia GarciaLive Volume 13 Features 1989 Show with Clarence Clemons". JamBase. Retrieved April 5, 2020.
  4. ^ a b Budnick, Dean (August 4, 2020). "Deadicated: Melvin Seals on Jerry Garcia's "Magic Band," Collaborating with Clarence Clemons". Relix. Retrieved August 4, 2020.
  5. ^ Scott, John W.; Dolgushkin, Mike; Nixon, Stu (1999). DeadBase XI: The Complete Guide to Grateful Dead Song Lists. Cornish, New Hampshire: DeadBase. p. 430. ISBN 1-877657-22-0.CS1 maint: multiple names: authors list (link)
  6. ^ Collette, Doug (April 24, 2020). "Jerry Garcia Band Feat. Clarence Clemons Highlights 'Garcia Live Volume 13: 9/16/89 Poplar Creek Music Theater'". Glide Magazine. Retrieved May 7, 2020.