1000 Hands: Chapter One
1000 Hands cover.jpg
Studio album by
Released31 March 2019
31 July 2020 (re-release)[1]
RecordedSolar Studios, Orlando, Florida
GenreArt-rock, pop music
LabelBlue Élan Records (2020 re-release)[1]
ProducerMichael Franklin
Jon Anderson chronology
The Living Tree in Concert Part One
1000 Hands: Chapter One

1000 Hands: Chapter One is the fifteenth studio album by English singer-songwriter and musician Jon Anderson, originally released in March 2019.


The album originates from sessions for a project to have been called Uzlot (a northern English pronunciation of "us lot") that Anderson had been recording in Big Bear, California, with Brian Chatton in around 1990. Chatton wrote most of the music, played keyboards and also sang. Anderson asked his then Yes bandmates Chris Squire and Alan White to play on the project too. At the time, Yes were preparing for a tour and Anderson put the master tapes in his garage and, as he has recounted, gave them very little thought for many years. In 2016, producer Michael Franklin contacted Anderson about using the tapes and finishing the album. Further recordings followed at Solar Studios in Orlando, Florida. Along with some newly written material, the final result is 1000 Hands.[2][3][4]

As the album title suggests, the album was created with a number of guest performers, including Steve Howe, Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson, Brian Chatton, Larry Coryell, Steve Morse, Journey keyboardist Jonathan Cain, Vanilla Fudge drummer Carmine Appice, Rick Derringer, the Tower of Power horn section, violinist Jean-Luc Ponty and pianist Chick Corea.


In October 2018, a dedicated album website launched containing the artwork and audio samples.[5] The album was released on 31 March 2019 under multiple formats: digital download, CD, and limited edition vinyl. Anderson also released the following statement.

“I’ve spent long periods of time making some records, but I’ve never taken a journey quite like this one. To say that 1,000 Hands has been a long time in coming would be quite an understatement, but I’m thrilled that it’s finally a reality and that my fans will now be able to hear it. And I think they’ll be delighted to hear music that’s timeless. It’s one of the best things I’ve ever done.”[6]


On 29 May 2020, Jon Anderson revealed that the 1000 Hands album would be released again in Summer 2020. Indeed, Anderson signed a new deal with Blue Élan Records. The album would be launched on July 31, 2020 on CD, deluxe 180-gram double vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms.[1]


Anderson promoted the album with a US tour from March to August 2019.[6][7]

Track listing

1."Now"Anderson, Chatton1:15
2."Ramalama"Anderson, Franklin3:52
3."First Born Leaders"Anderson, Chatton5:21
4."Activate"Anderson, Chatton9:24
5."Makes Me Happy"Anderson3:54
6."Now Variations"Anderson, Chatton1:10
7."I Found Myself"Anderson5:08
8."Twice in a Lifetime"Anderson, Chatton5:27
9."WDMCF"Anderson, Franklin3:42
10."1000 Hands (Come Up)"Anderson, Chatton9:24
11."Now and Again"Anderson, Chatton3:38
Total length:52:15

"WDMCF" is short for "Where Does Music Come From".



Additional musicians



Chart performance for 1000 Hands: Chapter One
Chart (2020)Peak
German Albums (Offizielle Top 100)[8]