Peter Green Splinter Group
Studio album by
Released12 May 1997
RecordedDecember 1996
StudioFleetwood Mobile
60:20 (with bonus track)
LabelSnapper Music
Peter Green Splinter Group chronology
Peter Green Splinter Group
The Robert Johnson Songbook
Professional ratings
Review scores
Allmusic3/5 stars[1]

Peter Green Splinter Group is an album by the British blues band of the same name, led by Peter Green. Released in 1997, this was their first album, and essentially the comeback album for Green, who had been out of the music business for around 10 years. Green was the founder of Fleetwood Mac and a member of that group from 1967–70, before a sporadic solo career during the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Mostly recorded live on a tour of the UK, the album consisted of covers of blues songs, written mainly by very well known and established artists.

Track listing

  1. "Hitch Hiking Woman" (Black Ace) – 3:46
  2. "Travelling Riverside Blues" (Robert Johnson) – 3:26
  3. "Look on Yonder Wall" (Elmore James) – 6:26
  4. "Homework" (Dave Clark, Al Perkins) – 3:56
  5. "The Stumble" (Freddie King, Sonny Thompson) – 4:22
  6. "Help Me" (Sonny Boy Williamson II, Willie Dixon, Ralph Bass) – 5:47
  7. "Watch Your Step" (Bobby Parker) – 3:51
  8. "From 4' Till Late" (Johnson) – 2:55
  9. "Steady Rollin' Man" (Johnson) – 3:41
  10. "It Takes Time" (Otis Rush) – 5:06
  11. "Dark End Of The Street" (Dan Penn, Chips Moman) – 3:59
  12. "Going Down" (Don Nix) – 7:43

The album incorrectly lists the composer of track 4 as Otis Rush. Rush was the first person to record the song in 1962, but did not compose it.[2][3][4]

Japanese issue bonus track

  1. "The Green Manalishi" (Peter Green)
  • Tracks 1 & 2 are studio recordings.
  • Tracks 3–13 are recorded live.


Peter Green Splinter Group


  • Tim Summerhayes, Robin Black, Ian Dyekhoff – engineers
  • Spike Edney – remix engineer at Blackbarn Studios
  • Al at Spot On – design
  • Will Riley of Underworld – logo


  1. ^ Owens, Thom. Peter Green Splinter Group at AllMusic
  2. ^ "Record Details - Otis Rush - Homework". Retrieved January 31, 2018. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
  3. ^ "Second Hand Songs - Otis Rush/Homework". Retrieved January 31, 2018. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)
  4. ^ "Discogs - Otis Rush single Homework". Retrieved January 31, 2018. CS1 maint: discouraged parameter (link)