Moon Child
Moonchild (Pharoah Sanders album).jpg
Studio album by
RecordedOctober 12 & 23, 1989 at Studio Davout, Paris, France
LabelTimeless SJP 326
ProducerWim Wigt
Pharoah Sanders chronology
A Prayer Before Dawn
Moon Child
Welcome to Love

Moon Child is an album led by saxophonist Pharoah Sanders recorded in 1989 and released on the Dutch Timeless label.[1]


Professional ratings
Review scores
The Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings[3]

In his review for AllMusic, Steve Loewy commented: „The results may have originally disappointed some of Sanders‘ fans, but with time the saxophonist clearly reinvented himself as a more traditional improviser capable of thoughtful and pensive deliberations“.[2]

Track listing

  1. „Moon Child“ (Pharoah Sanders) - 8:10
  2. „Moon Rays“ (Horace Silver) - 6:15
  3. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes“ (Buddy Bernier, Jerry Brainin) - 12:19
  4. All or Nothing at All“ (Arthur Altman, Jack Lawrence) - 9:25
  5. Soon“ (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) - 5:31
  6. „Moniebah“ (Abdullah Ibrahim) - 10:43



  1. ^ Pharoah Sanders discography accessed January 15, 2015
  2. ^ a b Loewy, Steve. Moonchild – Review at AllMusic. Retrieved January 15, 2015.
  3. ^ Cook, Richard; Morton, Brian (2008). The Penguin Guide to Jazz Recordings (9th ed.). Penguin. p. 1259. ISBN 978−0−141−03401−0.