Sound of Confusion
Spacemen 3 - Sound Of Confusion Orig.jpg
Studio album by
ReleasedJuly 1986
GenreNeo-psychedelia, garage rock
71:20 (1994 re-release)
LabelGlass (original UK release)
Fire (various UK reissues)
Taang! (1995 US release)
Spacemen 3 chronology
Sound of Confusion
Transparent Radiation
Alternative cover
This album cover drops the white background of the original for a fiery reinterpretation
1994 re-release.
Professional ratings
Review scores
Allmusic3/5 stars[1]

Sound of Confusion is the first studio album by space rock group Spacemen 3, released in July 1986 on Glass Records. Four of the seven songs are cover versions; "Hey Man" combines the melody of Amen (gospel song) with the lyrics of Fixin' to Die Blues by Bukka White, "Rollercoaster", originally by the 13th Floor Elevators, "Mary Anne" (originally ″Just One Time″) by Juicy Lucy and "Little Doll" by The Stooges. The closing track "O.D. Catastrophe" clearly references the vocal melody of "T.V. Eye" by The Stooges, with an early version of the song even being titled "T.V. Catastrophe". [2]

It was re-released in 1994 by Taang! including the three tracks on the Walkin' With Jesus EP and a demo of the song "2.35". [3]
It was re-released again in 1996 on Fire Records, who also re-released it as a vinyl LP in 2009.

Track listing

Original release (Glass GLALP 018)

All tracks are written by Kember, Pierce, except where noted.

1."Losing Touch with My Mind"5:29
2."Hey Man"4:49
3."Rollercoaster" (13th Floor Elevators cover) (Erickson, Hall)7:50
4."Mary Anne" (The song "Mary Anne" is actually a cover of "Just One Time" by Juicy Lucy) (Campbell, Crenshaw)4:13
5."Little Doll" (The Stooges cover) (Alexander, Asheton, Asheton, Osterberg)5:25
7."O.D. Catastrophe"8:54
1994 re-issue bonus tracks (Taang!)
8."Walkin' With Jesus"5:52
9."Rollercoaster" (13th Floor Elevators cover) (Extended Version) (Erickson, Hall)17:03
10."Feel So Good"4:57
11."2:35 (Demo)"3:40