Never Is Forever
TRBNGR NeverIsForever.jpg
Studio album by
RecordedMarch, 1993–December, 1993 at Nesodden Musikkverksted by Christian A. Calmeyer and Åsgeir Knudsen
GenrePunk rock
Turbonegro chronology
(He's a) Grunge Whore
Never Is Forever
Stinky Fingers
Alternative cover
Original 1994 cover
Original 1994 cover
Professional ratings
Review scores
Allmusic4/5 stars[1]

Never Is Forever is the second full-length album by the Norwegian band Turbonegro released in 1994 on . It was a limited and CD only release to only 1,000 copies (some accounts suggest 1,200). re-released the album remastered and with a new "Derrick-style" cover artwork in 1999. This album - "a tribute to Blue Öyster Cult" as claimed by the band themselves - is an attempt to dissociate from the Lo-Fi estethics of the garage scene: "When the rest of the punk oriented world tried hard to be lo-fi and 'real', Turbonegro as usual went the opposite way, creating a miniature suburban deathpunk opera. Seldom have pop culture, darkness and desperation blended so well."

Four songs from the Grunge Whore EP are also included here.

On the CD-version there are three hidden tracks in the end of the final track: Bingo singing Staten och kapitalet, a 1970s radical left-wing progressive rock tune by Blå Tåget made into a national hit song in Sweden in 1980 by punk rock band Ebba Grön, Evel Knievel performing a poem named Why? and performing his song The Ballad of Evel Knievel.

Track listing

  1. Letter From Your Momma – 2:16
  2. Suburban Prince's Death Song – 3:36
  3. Übermensch – 3:37
  4. I Will Never Die – 3:54
  5. No Beast So Fierce – 3:54
  6. Destination: Hell – 3:23
  7. Timebomb – 3:18
  8. Pain In Der Arsch Pocket Full Of Cash – 1:31
  9. Hush, Earthling – 3:14
  10. Nihil Sleighride – 2:59
  11. (He's A) Grunge Whore – 4:37
  12. Black Chrome – 2:26
  13. Oslo Bloodbath Pt. II: I Don't Care – 2:44
  14. Oslo Bloodbath Pt. III: The Ballad Of Gerda And Tore – 24:26
  • 00:00-06:04 – Oslo Bloodbath Pt. III: The Ballad Of Gerda And Tore
  • 06:04-12:04 – Six minutes of silence
  • 12:04-16:58 – Bengt “Bingo” Calmeyer sings Staten och Kapitalet, a cover of Blå Tåget (made famous by Ebba Grön).
  • 16:58-19:58 – Evel Knievel – Why?
  • 19:58-24:26 – John Culliton Mahoney – The Ballad of Evel Knievel


Band members

Additional musicians

  • Åsgeir Knudsen - Additional instruments on "Letter From Your Momma"


  • Morten Anderson - Photography
  • Ando - Photography
  • Christian A. Calmeyer - Engineer
  • Dimitri - Artwork
  • Craig Morris - Editing, Mastering
    • All original Turbonegro discography info compiled by Heffington, Mike (TJUSA) and Lucassen, Martin (Turbo-Archive).